The Irish capital is situated in County Dublin on the east coast of Ireland and it’s home to around one and a quarter million residents, making it the most populous county in Ireland. The county shares boundaries with Meath, Kildare and Wicklow around the periphery of an area that extends to over 350 square miles.

A third of Leinster’s 168 golf clubs are located in County Dublin with Portmarnock and Royal Dublin standing head and shoulders above all the others in seniority, as both have been hosting national and international competitions for over a hundred years.

The Irish Amateur Open, Irish Amateur Close, Irish Open and Irish PGA have all been held at Portmarnock and Dollymount since 1894. In addition, Portmarnock was also the venue for the Canada Cup (now the World Cup) in 1960 and the Walker Cup in 1991.